Ohmgee Pulled Pork With Coke.

First and foremost, my sister is getting married! Yay! I’m so excited for my big sister Jessica and her awesome honey boo-boo Nick. I love them, and it’s about freakin’ time!! I posted this grand news on FB, but I think some confusion occurred in that people thought I was talking about myself. Ha ha. My life. Anyways, congrats to my big sister and WE GOTS A WEDDING TO PLAN YA’LL! More importantly, a wedding menu to plan!!!

I’m sick. Ugh. Which is why I don’t have a really interesting post planned or anything, so I thought I’d go ahead and slap this recipe down, since it is one of my absolute favorite pulled pork recipes (and I’ve tried a couple).

I love Coke. Not Sprite. Not Dr. Pepper. And DEFINITELY NOT Diet Coke.

Just Coke.

I’ve known about the trick of slow cooking with Coke, but surprisingly, I never tried it up until now. I don’t know why. I am actually extremely ashamed of myself that, out of all the times I’ve thrown a pot roast into the crock,  I never once thought to dump a can of Coke over it. Seriously…

What the hell is wrong with me?

So I found this recipe, and decided that I needed to amend my non-Coke cooking ways STAT. Because what better way than to fuel your soft drink obsession than incorporating it into your food? 

(Yes, I know soda is bad for you, but it’s oh…so…good) 

Coke and I basically have a love-love relationship, and we took that relationship to a whole new level in this recipe that I yanked from here. I hope you all dust off your crock pots and make this:

ALL THE JUICES. INDULGE!

Super Duper Coke Pork

  • Pork shoulder–I used bone-in, and it was so tender!
  • 2-3 small cans of fire roasted green chiles (I love these chiles, so I always put a little extra)
  • 1 can of tomato paste 60z
  • ground cumin
  • garlic powder
  • ancho-chile powder
  • as much freshly minced garlic as you’d like
  • 1/3 cup of brown sugar
  • 1-1/2 cup cola
  • kosher salt to taste, about a teaspoon

I didn’t use the same exact measurements that the original recipe called for. I like to season to taste, so I used just as much cumin, garlic powder, and chile powder as I wanted.

Mix together the green chiles, the tomato paste, the cumin, garlic powder, ancho-chile powder, garlic, and brown sugar into a thick paste. I did this part at two in the morning. I couldn’t sleep, and so I did this instead.

At two in the morning.

It was very therapeutic.

And I did end up going to sleep afterwards.

I really wanted to just eat it like this.

Smear this all over your pork shoulder. You can stick your shoulder in the fridge and let it sit in this paste over night, too. Lightly grease your crock pot, and put this baby in. Add the coke, put on the lid, and let it go for about 7 hours on low, give or take an hour depending on how fast your slow cooker cooks. The pork should be easy to shred with a fork–that’s how you know it’s done. I served this with potatoes, corn on the cob, and biscuits.

This smells delish when its cooking! And don’t worry–it doesn’t taste like coke. The soda adds sugar, and the sugar also helps tenderize the meat. In the end, you have a great sweet flavor. ALSO IT’S MADE FROM COKE AND THAT JUST MAKES EVERYTHING BETTER AUTOMATICALLY OKAY?

So excuse me while I go bury myself in more tissues.

Oh hay Tylenol…sweet relief! 

The Orca, aka the Killer Whale is perhaps the most recognizable whale in the ocean with that striking black and white coloration. Except that it isn’t.

A whale, that is.

This is a dolphin. On steroids.

The Orca belongs to the family Delphinidae, and it is actually more of a really, REALLY big dolphin than a whale. A really big dolphin that sometimes eats other whales.

And other dolphins.

Think about that.

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Life, Whales

3 responses to “Ohmgee Pulled Pork With Coke.

  1. forkets

    Orcas also kill sharks and eat their… liver or kidneys or something like that. I didn’t realise they’re not whales… yay for learning!!

    Get better soon, mmk?? ❤

  2. forkets

    oh, also…. cooking with coke?? serious? I had no idea you could do this!

    • It’s amazing. It doesn’t taste like soda at all; the cooking process really brings out the sugar in the coke, and that’s what contributes to the overall flavor. I’ve heard people use Diet Coke before, but I’ve also heard that it isn’t the same. And Diet Coke is gross anyways, so I don’t know why anyone would want to do that.

Leave a comment